trades
HVAC Technician programs
HVAC technician programs cover refrigeration cycles, electrical systems, ductwork, EPA Section 608 certification preparation, and diagnostic procedures. Programs commonly run 6 to 18 months.
At a glance
8 verified listings offer HVAC Technician training across 2 states (AZ, NV), with tuition from $2,500–$17,000. A typical program runs about 48 weeks and leads to a certificate.
Schools that offer HVAC Technician
All schools listed publish accreditation, tuition, and outcomes data.
| School | Location | Length | Modality | Tuition | Placement |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arizona Automotive Institute | Glendale, AZ | 40 weeks; 800 clock hours; 50 quarter credit hours over 4 terms. NCCER-recognized curriculum; students prepare for and sit for EPA Section 608 certification. Offered on-campus or hybrid. | In person | $17,000 | 70% |
| Advanced Training Institute | Las Vegas, NV | Traditional in-classroom clock-hour diploma program; hour total not retrievable from the catalog text obtained in this session | In person | — | — |
| East Valley Institute of Technology | Mesa, AZ | 1 semester, 360 clock hours | In person | $5,805 | — |
| East Valley Institute of Technology | Mesa, AZ | 8,000 hours on-the-job training plus 600 hours related technical instruction; estimated completion 4 years | In person | $2,500 | — |
| United Education Institute – Las Vegas (UEI) | Las Vegas, NV | — wks | Not reported | — | — |
| GateWay Community College-Central City | Phoenix, AZ | — wks | Not reported | — | — |
| Carrington College - Phoenix | Phoenix, AZ | Approximately 40 weeks (not including breaks); 720 clock hours (480 lecture / 240 lab); 40 semester credit hours; offered at the Phoenix Education Center - NOT currently enrolling new students | In person | — | — |
| Northwest Career College | Las Vegas, NV | 9 Months | Not reported | $16,500 | — |
Popular cities offering HVAC Technician
Compare local tuition, length, and outcomes for hvac technician training in these cities.
Related trades programs
Frequently asked questions
- How long is a hvac technician program?
- Most hvac technician programs take about 48 weeks of full-time study and lead to a certificate.
- What is the median salary for a HVAC Technician?
- According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, the median annual wage is approximately $51,390. Actual salaries vary by region, employer, and experience.
- What should I look for in a hvac technician school?
- Verify the school's institutional accreditation, state authorization, completion rate, and job placement rate. CareerSchoolFinder lists schools that meet these baseline transparency requirements.
Questions to ask before enrolling in a hvac technician program
Bring this checklist to every information session, campus tour, or admissions phone call.
- Is the program institutionally accredited, or only state-approved?
- These are different things. State approval lets the school operate; accreditation by an agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education is what lets you use federal financial aid and is required for many professional licensure paths.
- What is the total cost, including all fees, books, supplies, and exam fees?
- Tuition is rarely the full price. Ask for a written total program cost disclosure that itemizes tuition, registration, technology, lab, and book/supply fees, plus any required certification or licensing exam fees.
- How long is the program in clock hours, not just weeks?
- Two programs both labeled "36 weeks" can deliver very different amounts of training. Ask for the total clock hours (or credit hours) and the weekly schedule (full-time, part-time, evenings, weekends).
- What are the most recent completion and job placement rates?
- Ask for the year, the methodology, and the underlying numbers — not just a percentage. A reputable school will share its annual performance fact sheet or gainful-employment disclosure.
- Is there a licensure or certification exam? What is the most recent pass rate?
- For healthcare, beauty, and many trades programs, a state or national exam is required to work in the field. Ask for the school's most recent first-time pass rate.
- What is the refund policy if I withdraw?
- Refund schedules vary widely. Ask to see the written enrollment agreement and the state-mandated cancellation/refund schedule before signing anything.
Where this data comes from
Every figure on CareerSchoolFinder is compiled from public records, accreditor directories, or the school's own published disclosures. We never accept payment from schools to be listed, and we don't sell prospective-student information.
Public filings
State regulator records (e.g., California BPPE, Maryland Board of Cosmetologists), federal College Navigator (NCES), and IPEDS data submitted by the institution.
Accreditor directories
Active-status verifications come directly from the accrediting agency's public directory (ACCSC, ABHES, COE, ACCET, NACCAS, COMTA, and others recognized by the U.S. Department of Education).
School disclosures
Tuition, fees, program length, and outcomes (completion, placement, licensure pass rate) come from the school's published catalog, performance fact sheets, and gainful-employment disclosures.
Data changes between catalog years. Always confirm directly with the school and the relevant state regulator before enrolling. College Navigator
See something inaccurate? Report it. We update listings within 5 business days.