GateWay Community College-Central City
GateWay Community College-Central City is a public, less-than-two-year branch campus of GateWay Community College (Maricopa County Community College District) located at 1245 E. Buckeye Road in Phoenix, Arizona. It provides short-term certificate training in trade, beauty and wellness, and healthcare fields, including welding, HVAC, autobody repair, CNC machining, cosmetology, aesthetics, nail technology, massage therapy, phlebotomy, pharmacy technician, medical assisting, and EMT/paramedic. The campus enrolled 595 students in fall 2024, conferred 645 certificates in 2024-25, and operates under GateWay Community College's Higher Learning Commission accreditation as a listed additional location.
Accreditation
- Accredited — Central City Campus (1245 E. Buckeye Road, Phoenix) is listed as an additional location of Maricopa Community Colleges-GateWay Community College; initial accreditation July 30, 1971; most recent reaffirmation 2019-20; next reaffirmation 2029-30
Higher Learning Commission (HLC)
institutional ·
Verified August 31, 2026Verify on accreditor site
State approval
No state approval records on file.
Programs offered
| Program | Credential | Length | Modality | Tuition | Total cost | Completion | Placement | Licensure | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Esthetician | Certificate | — wks | Not reported | $4,715 | — | — | — | — | View |
| Cosmetology | Certificate | — wks | Not reported | — | — | — | — | — | View |
| Nail Technician | Certificate | — wks | Not reported | — | — | — | — | — | View |
| Massage Therapy | Certificate | — wks | Not reported | — | — | — | — | — | View |
| Phlebotomy Technician | Certificate | — wks | Not reported | — | — | — | — | — | View |
| Pharmacy Technician | Certificate | — wks | Not reported | — | — | — | — | — | View |
| Medical Assistant | Certificate | — wks | Not reported | — | — | — | — | — | View |
| EMT / Paramedic | Certificate | — wks | Not reported | — | — | — | — | — | View |
| Welding | Certificate | — wks | Not reported | — | — | — | — | — | View |
| HVAC Technician | Certificate | — wks | Not reported | — | — | — | — | — | View |
Data sources
- NCES College Navigator — GateWay Community College-Central City (UNITID 246895)U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics · Retrieved August 31, 2026
- HLC institution directory — Maricopa Community Colleges-GateWay Community College (lists Central City Campus as additional location)Higher Learning Commission · Retrieved August 31, 2026
- COE member directory (checked: no GateWay / Maricopa Skill Center listing)Council on Occupational Education · Retrieved August 31, 2026
Frequently asked questions
- Is GateWay Community College-Central City accredited?
- Yes — GateWay Community College-Central City is accredited by Higher Learning Commission. Verify directly on the accreditor's website.
- Where is GateWay Community College-Central City located?
- GateWay Community College-Central City's main campus is at 1245 E Buckeye Rd, Phoenix, AZ, 85034-4101.
- What programs does GateWay Community College-Central City offer?
- GateWay Community College-Central City offers 10 programs including Esthetician, Cosmetology, Nail Technician, Massage Therapy, Phlebotomy Technician.
Cost breakdown by program
Tuition, fees, and books/supplies as published by the school.
Esthetician
Cost breakdown
- Tuition
- $4,715
- Fees
- —
- Books & supplies
- $362
- Total program cost
- $5,077
Cosmetology
Cost breakdown
- Tuition
- —
- Fees
- —
- Books & supplies
- —
- Total program cost
- —
Nail Technician
Cost breakdown
- Tuition
- —
- Fees
- —
- Books & supplies
- —
- Total program cost
- —
Massage Therapy
Cost breakdown
- Tuition
- —
- Fees
- —
- Books & supplies
- —
- Total program cost
- —
Phlebotomy Technician
Cost breakdown
- Tuition
- —
- Fees
- —
- Books & supplies
- —
- Total program cost
- —
Pharmacy Technician
Cost breakdown
- Tuition
- —
- Fees
- —
- Books & supplies
- —
- Total program cost
- —
Medical Assistant
Cost breakdown
- Tuition
- —
- Fees
- —
- Books & supplies
- —
- Total program cost
- —
EMT / Paramedic
Cost breakdown
- Tuition
- —
- Fees
- —
- Books & supplies
- —
- Total program cost
- —
Welding
Cost breakdown
- Tuition
- —
- Fees
- —
- Books & supplies
- —
- Total program cost
- —
HVAC Technician
Cost breakdown
- Tuition
- —
- Fees
- —
- Books & supplies
- —
- Total program cost
- —
Questions to ask before enrolling
Bring this checklist to every information session, campus tour, or admissions phone call.
- Is the program institutionally accredited, or only state-approved?
- These are different things. State approval lets the school operate; accreditation by an agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education is what lets you use federal financial aid and is required for many professional licensure paths.
- What is the total cost, including all fees, books, supplies, and exam fees?
- Tuition is rarely the full price. Ask for a written total program cost disclosure that itemizes tuition, registration, technology, lab, and book/supply fees, plus any required certification or licensing exam fees.
- How long is the program in clock hours, not just weeks?
- Two programs both labeled "36 weeks" can deliver very different amounts of training. Ask for the total clock hours (or credit hours) and the weekly schedule (full-time, part-time, evenings, weekends).
- What are the most recent completion and job placement rates?
- Ask for the year, the methodology, and the underlying numbers — not just a percentage. A reputable school will share its annual performance fact sheet or gainful-employment disclosure.
- Is there a licensure or certification exam? What is the most recent pass rate?
- For healthcare, beauty, and many trades programs, a state or national exam is required to work in the field. Ask for the school's most recent first-time pass rate.
- What is the refund policy if I withdraw?
- Refund schedules vary widely. Ask to see the written enrollment agreement and the state-mandated cancellation/refund schedule before signing anything.
Where this data comes from
Every figure on CareerSchoolFinder is compiled from public records, accreditor directories, or the school's own published disclosures. We never accept payment from schools to be listed, and we don't sell prospective-student information.
Public filings
State regulator records (e.g., California BPPE, Maryland Board of Cosmetologists), federal College Navigator (NCES), and IPEDS data submitted by the institution.
Accreditor directories
Active-status verifications come directly from the accrediting agency's public directory (ACCSC, ABHES, COE, ACCET, NACCAS, COMTA, and others recognized by the U.S. Department of Education).
School disclosures
Tuition, fees, program length, and outcomes (completion, placement, licensure pass rate) come from the school's published catalog, performance fact sheets, and gainful-employment disclosures.
Data changes between catalog years. Always confirm directly with the school and the relevant state regulator before enrolling. College Navigator
See something inaccurate? Report it. We update listings within 5 business days.