healthcare
Medical Assistant programs
Medical assistant programs prepare students to take vital signs, draw blood, prepare patients for examinations, and handle clinical office administration. Most programs lead to a certificate or diploma and qualify graduates to sit for credentialing exams such as the CMA (AAMA) or RMA.
At a glance
18 verified listings offer Medical Assistant training across 2 states (AZ, NV), with tuition from $14,456–$17,950. A typical program runs about 36 weeks and leads to a certificate.
Schools that offer Medical Assistant
All schools listed publish accreditation, tuition, and outcomes data.
| School | Location | Length | Modality | Tuition | Placement |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pima Medical Institute - East Valley | Mesa, AZ | 800 clock hours; 35 weeks (five-day schedule); 32.0 semester credits | In person | $17,152 | 94% |
| Nevada Career Institute | Las Vegas, NV | 43 weeks; 34.5 semester credits; 820 course hours plus 232.5 outside prep hours (1,052.5 total hours), including a 160-hour externship | Hybrid | $16,845 | — |
| United Education Institute – Las Vegas (UEI) | Las Vegas, NV | — wks | Not reported | — | — |
| Allen School of Health Sciences (Phoenix) | Phoenix, AZ | Nine months; eight modules (six 5-week and two 3-week), including a 275-hour clinical internship; 450 lecture / 175 lab / 275 internship hours; Phoenix offers Day schedule | Hybrid | $15,218 | 96% |
| Arizona College - Glendale | Glendale, AZ | Approximately 31 weeks (3 terms of 10 weeks; final session 6 weeks); published course totals 271 lecture / 239 lab / 210 externship contact hours (43 credits) | Hybrid | $16,998 | 71% |
| Arizona College - Mesa | Mesa, AZ | 31-week undergraduate diploma program; blended delivery | Hybrid | $16,998 | 77% |
| GateWay Community College-Central City | Phoenix, AZ | — wks | Not reported | — | — |
| Carrington College - Reno Campus | Reno, NV | 36 weeks; 405 lecture + 165 lab + 180 externship hours; 36 semester credit hours | Hybrid | $17,950 | — |
| Milan Institute – Sparks, NV (Amarillo College of Hairdressing, Inc. d/b/a Milan Institute) | Sparks, NV | 780 hours / 36 weeks / 52 quarter credits / 36 FA units; includes 180-hour externship | Not reported | $16,170 | — |
| Milan Institute - Las Vegas | Las Vegas, NV | 780 hours / 36 weeks / 52 quarter credits / 36 FA units | In person | $16,170 | — |
| Brookline College-Tempe | Tempe, AZ | 28 credit hours; average completion 9 months (NCES 2024-25) | Not reported | $14,456 | 88% |
| Carrington College - Las Vegas Campus | Las Vegas, NV | Approximately 36 weeks (not including breaks); 405 lecture, 165 lab, and 180 externship hours; 36 semester credit hours (program version effective for the April 13, 2026 start date) | Hybrid | — | — |
| Carrington College - Mesa | Mesa, AZ | 36 weeks (not including breaks); 750 contact hours (390 lecture / 180 lab / 180 externship); 36 semester credit hours | Hybrid | — | — |
| Carrington College - Phoenix | Phoenix, AZ | Approximately 36 weeks (not including breaks); 750 clock hours (390 lecture / 180 lab / 180 extern); 36 semester credit hours | Hybrid | — | — |
| Carrington College - Tucson | Tucson, AZ | 36 weeks (5/6-week terms), 36 semester credits; 750 contact hours (390 lecture / 180 lab / 180 externship) | Hybrid | — | — |
| Northwest Career College | Las Vegas, NV | 9 Months | Not reported | $16,500 | 77% |
| Kino College | Tucson, AZ | 720 clock hours over 36 weeks (about 9 months) of instruction and externship | In person | $17,500 | — |
| Pima Medical Institute - Las Vegas | Las Vegas, NV | 32 credits / 800 clock hours; 35 weeks; 5-week externship | Hybrid | $17,152 | — |
Popular cities offering Medical Assistant
Compare local tuition, length, and outcomes for medical assistant training in these cities.
- Medical Assistant in Las Vegas, NVNevada6 schools →
- Medical Assistant in Mesa, AZArizona3 schools →
- Medical Assistant in Phoenix, AZArizona3 schools →
- Medical Assistant in Tucson, AZArizona2 schools →
- Medical Assistant in Glendale, AZArizona1 school →
- Medical Assistant in Reno, NVNevada1 school →
- Medical Assistant in Sparks, NVNevada1 school →
- Medical Assistant in Tempe, AZArizona1 school →
Related healthcare programs
Frequently asked questions
- How long is a medical assistant program?
- Most medical assistant programs take about 36 weeks of full-time study and lead to a certificate.
- What is the median salary for a Medical Assistant?
- According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, the median annual wage is approximately $38,270. Actual salaries vary by region, employer, and experience.
- What should I look for in a medical assistant school?
- Verify the school's institutional accreditation, state authorization, completion rate, and job placement rate. CareerSchoolFinder lists schools that meet these baseline transparency requirements.
Questions to ask before enrolling in a medical assistant program
Bring this checklist to every information session, campus tour, or admissions phone call.
- Is the program institutionally accredited, or only state-approved?
- These are different things. State approval lets the school operate; accreditation by an agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education is what lets you use federal financial aid and is required for many professional licensure paths.
- What is the total cost, including all fees, books, supplies, and exam fees?
- Tuition is rarely the full price. Ask for a written total program cost disclosure that itemizes tuition, registration, technology, lab, and book/supply fees, plus any required certification or licensing exam fees.
- How long is the program in clock hours, not just weeks?
- Two programs both labeled "36 weeks" can deliver very different amounts of training. Ask for the total clock hours (or credit hours) and the weekly schedule (full-time, part-time, evenings, weekends).
- What are the most recent completion and job placement rates?
- Ask for the year, the methodology, and the underlying numbers — not just a percentage. A reputable school will share its annual performance fact sheet or gainful-employment disclosure.
- Is there a licensure or certification exam? What is the most recent pass rate?
- For healthcare, beauty, and many trades programs, a state or national exam is required to work in the field. Ask for the school's most recent first-time pass rate.
- What is the refund policy if I withdraw?
- Refund schedules vary widely. Ask to see the written enrollment agreement and the state-mandated cancellation/refund schedule before signing anything.
Where this data comes from
Every figure on CareerSchoolFinder is compiled from public records, accreditor directories, or the school's own published disclosures. We never accept payment from schools to be listed, and we don't sell prospective-student information.
Public filings
State regulator records (e.g., California BPPE, Maryland Board of Cosmetologists), federal College Navigator (NCES), and IPEDS data submitted by the institution.
Accreditor directories
Active-status verifications come directly from the accrediting agency's public directory (ACCSC, ABHES, COE, ACCET, NACCAS, COMTA, and others recognized by the U.S. Department of Education).
School disclosures
Tuition, fees, program length, and outcomes (completion, placement, licensure pass rate) come from the school's published catalog, performance fact sheets, and gainful-employment disclosures.
Data changes between catalog years. Always confirm directly with the school and the relevant state regulator before enrolling. College Navigator
See something inaccurate? Report it. We update listings within 5 business days.