beauty
Nail Technician programs
Nail technician programs prepare students for state licensure in nail care. Coursework covers manicures, pedicures, acrylic and gel enhancements, nail art, disinfection and sanitation rules, and salon operations, with clock-hour requirements set by each state's cosmetology or barbering board.
At a glance
13 verified listings offer Nail Technician training across 2 states (AZ, NV), with tuition from $4,200–$9,360. A typical program runs about 16 weeks and leads to a certificate.
Schools that offer Nail Technician
All schools listed publish accreditation, tuition, and outcomes data.
| School | Location | Length | Modality | Tuition | Placement |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Empire Beauty School-Chandler | Chandler, AZ | 600 clock hours; 2026-27 catalog tuition addendum notes program is not currently offered | In person | $4,200 | 68% |
| Paul Mitchell The School Phoenix | Phoenix, AZ | 600 clock hours | In person | $5,500 | — |
| Charles of Italy Beauty College | Lake Havasu City, AZ | 600 clock hours; scheduled completion within 5 months (minimum 4.3 months for Title IV recipients) | In person | — | 70% |
| Empire Beauty School - Tucson (Tucson-University Area) | Tucson, AZ | 600 clock hours (18 weeks full-time); listed in the 2026/27 Arizona catalog as NOT CURRENTLY OFFERED | In person | — | — |
| GateWay Community College-Central City | Phoenix, AZ | — wks | Not reported | — | — |
| Milan Institute of Cosmetology - Reno | Reno, NV | 600 clock hours; scheduled as a 24-week day program or a 30-week evening program | In person | $8,440 | — |
| Academy of Hair Design | Las Vegas, NV | — wks | Not reported | — | 68% |
| Casal Institute of Nevada, LLC (dba Aveda Institute Las Vegas) | Las Vegas, NV | 600 clock hours; 20 weeks per the 2025 catalog (https://avedalasvegas.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/01/2025-Catalog-2.pdf); website states completion in as little as five months | In person | $9,100 | — |
| Euphoria Institute of Beauty Arts & Sciences (Summerlin Campus, Las Vegas) | Las Vegas, NV | 720-hour day or evening program; school states training in 34 weeks / as little as 7.5 months when completed in normal time | In person | $9,360 | — |
| International Academy of Style | Reno, NV | 600 clock hours; estimated 20.00 weeks / 4.75 months at 30 scheduled hours per week | In person | $7,400 | 91% |
| Milan Institute - Las Vegas | Las Vegas, NV | 600 hours | In person | $8,440 | — |
| Paul Mitchell The School Reno | Reno, NV | Commitment to complete program: 600 hours; start dates listed for 5-day full-time and night part-time cohorts | In person | $7,190 | — |
| Sierra Academy of Style | Carson City, NV | 600 clock hours; 18 weeks full-time, 20 weeks part-time | In person | $6,600 | — |
Popular cities offering Nail Technician
Compare local tuition, length, and outcomes for nail technician training in these cities.
- Nail Technician in Las Vegas, NVNevada4 schools →
- Nail Technician in Reno, NVNevada3 schools →
- Nail Technician in Phoenix, AZArizona2 schools →
- Nail Technician in Chandler, AZArizona1 school →
- Nail Technician in Lake Havasu City, AZArizona1 school →
- Nail Technician in Tucson, AZArizona1 school →
- Nail Technician in Carson City, NVNevada1 school →
Related beauty programs
Frequently asked questions
- How long is a nail technician program?
- Most nail technician programs take about 16 weeks of full-time study and lead to a certificate.
- What is the median salary for a Nail Technician?
- According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, the median annual wage is approximately $35,760. Actual salaries vary by region, employer, and experience.
- What should I look for in a nail technician school?
- Verify the school's institutional accreditation, state authorization, completion rate, and job placement rate. CareerSchoolFinder lists schools that meet these baseline transparency requirements.
Questions to ask before enrolling in a nail technician program
Bring this checklist to every information session, campus tour, or admissions phone call.
- Is the program institutionally accredited, or only state-approved?
- These are different things. State approval lets the school operate; accreditation by an agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education is what lets you use federal financial aid and is required for many professional licensure paths.
- What is the total cost, including all fees, books, supplies, and exam fees?
- Tuition is rarely the full price. Ask for a written total program cost disclosure that itemizes tuition, registration, technology, lab, and book/supply fees, plus any required certification or licensing exam fees.
- How long is the program in clock hours, not just weeks?
- Two programs both labeled "36 weeks" can deliver very different amounts of training. Ask for the total clock hours (or credit hours) and the weekly schedule (full-time, part-time, evenings, weekends).
- What are the most recent completion and job placement rates?
- Ask for the year, the methodology, and the underlying numbers — not just a percentage. A reputable school will share its annual performance fact sheet or gainful-employment disclosure.
- Is there a licensure or certification exam? What is the most recent pass rate?
- For healthcare, beauty, and many trades programs, a state or national exam is required to work in the field. Ask for the school's most recent first-time pass rate.
- What is the refund policy if I withdraw?
- Refund schedules vary widely. Ask to see the written enrollment agreement and the state-mandated cancellation/refund schedule before signing anything.
Where this data comes from
Every figure on CareerSchoolFinder is compiled from public records, accreditor directories, or the school's own published disclosures. We never accept payment from schools to be listed, and we don't sell prospective-student information.
Public filings
State regulator records (e.g., California BPPE, Maryland Board of Cosmetologists), federal College Navigator (NCES), and IPEDS data submitted by the institution.
Accreditor directories
Active-status verifications come directly from the accrediting agency's public directory (ACCSC, ABHES, COE, ACCET, NACCAS, COMTA, and others recognized by the U.S. Department of Education).
School disclosures
Tuition, fees, program length, and outcomes (completion, placement, licensure pass rate) come from the school's published catalog, performance fact sheets, and gainful-employment disclosures.
Data changes between catalog years. Always confirm directly with the school and the relevant state regulator before enrolling. College Navigator
See something inaccurate? Report it. We update listings within 5 business days.