beauty
Hair Design programs
Hair design programs concentrate on cutting, coloring, chemical texture services, and styling. In states with a separate hairstyling license they lead to that credential; elsewhere the hours typically apply toward cosmetology licensure.
At a glance
7 verified listings offer Hair Design training across 2 states (AZ, NV), with tuition from $14,000–$15,375. A typical program runs about 40 weeks and leads to a diploma.
Schools that offer Hair Design
All schools listed publish accreditation, tuition, and outcomes data.
| School | Location | Length | Modality | Tuition | Placement |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Charles of Italy Beauty College | Lake Havasu City, AZ | — wks | In person | — | — |
| Penrose Academy | Scottsdale, AZ | 1,000 clock hours; 30 weeks (4-day schedule) or 50 weeks (2-day schedule) | Hybrid | $14,320 | 82% |
| Academy of Hair Design | Las Vegas, NV | — wks | Not reported | — | 73% |
| Aveda Institute Phoenix | Tempe, AZ | 1,000 clock hours (Arizona hairstyling licensure requirement, CIP 12.0407); full-time day schedules 30-37.5 hours/week; evening schedule 25 hours/week including a Monday distance-education day | In person | $15,375 | 81% |
| Aveda Institute Tucson | Tucson, AZ | 1,000 clock hours required for Arizona licensure; day and evening schedules at 25 hours/week; catalog lists no start dates currently scheduled, with or without the 20% distance-education option (CIP 12.0407) | Not reported | $15,375 | 79% |
| International Academy of Style | Reno, NV | 1,000 clock hours; estimated 34.00 weeks / 7.75 months at 30 scheduled hours per week | In person | $14,000 | 100% |
| Sierra Academy of Style | Carson City, NV | 1,000 clock hours; 29 weeks full-time, 34 weeks part-time | In person | $14,000 | — |
Popular cities offering Hair Design
Compare local tuition, length, and outcomes for hair design training in these cities.
- Hair Design in Lake Havasu City, AZArizona1 school →
- Hair Design in Scottsdale, AZArizona1 school →
- Hair Design in Las Vegas, NVNevada1 school →
- Hair Design in Tempe, AZArizona1 school →
- Hair Design in Tucson, AZArizona1 school →
- Hair Design in Reno, NVNevada1 school →
- Hair Design in Carson City, NVNevada1 school →
Related beauty programs
Frequently asked questions
- How long is a hair design program?
- Most hair design programs take about 40 weeks of full-time study and lead to a diploma.
- What is the median salary for a Hair Design?
- According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, the median annual wage is approximately $35,790. Actual salaries vary by region, employer, and experience.
- What should I look for in a hair design school?
- Verify the school's institutional accreditation, state authorization, completion rate, and job placement rate. CareerSchoolFinder lists schools that meet these baseline transparency requirements.
Questions to ask before enrolling in a hair design program
Bring this checklist to every information session, campus tour, or admissions phone call.
- Is the program institutionally accredited, or only state-approved?
- These are different things. State approval lets the school operate; accreditation by an agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education is what lets you use federal financial aid and is required for many professional licensure paths.
- What is the total cost, including all fees, books, supplies, and exam fees?
- Tuition is rarely the full price. Ask for a written total program cost disclosure that itemizes tuition, registration, technology, lab, and book/supply fees, plus any required certification or licensing exam fees.
- How long is the program in clock hours, not just weeks?
- Two programs both labeled "36 weeks" can deliver very different amounts of training. Ask for the total clock hours (or credit hours) and the weekly schedule (full-time, part-time, evenings, weekends).
- What are the most recent completion and job placement rates?
- Ask for the year, the methodology, and the underlying numbers — not just a percentage. A reputable school will share its annual performance fact sheet or gainful-employment disclosure.
- Is there a licensure or certification exam? What is the most recent pass rate?
- For healthcare, beauty, and many trades programs, a state or national exam is required to work in the field. Ask for the school's most recent first-time pass rate.
- What is the refund policy if I withdraw?
- Refund schedules vary widely. Ask to see the written enrollment agreement and the state-mandated cancellation/refund schedule before signing anything.
Where this data comes from
Every figure on CareerSchoolFinder is compiled from public records, accreditor directories, or the school's own published disclosures. We never accept payment from schools to be listed, and we don't sell prospective-student information.
Public filings
State regulator records (e.g., California BPPE, Maryland Board of Cosmetologists), federal College Navigator (NCES), and IPEDS data submitted by the institution.
Accreditor directories
Active-status verifications come directly from the accrediting agency's public directory (ACCSC, ABHES, COE, ACCET, NACCAS, COMTA, and others recognized by the U.S. Department of Education).
School disclosures
Tuition, fees, program length, and outcomes (completion, placement, licensure pass rate) come from the school's published catalog, performance fact sheets, and gainful-employment disclosures.
Data changes between catalog years. Always confirm directly with the school and the relevant state regulator before enrolling. College Navigator
See something inaccurate? Report it. We update listings within 5 business days.