beauty
Esthetician programs
Estheticians provide skin care services such as facials and hair removal. Programs prepare students for state licensure exams.
At a glance
28 verified listings offer Esthetician training across 2 states (AZ, NV), with tuition from $4,715–$18,200. A typical program runs about 24 weeks and leads to a certificate.
Schools that offer Esthetician
All schools listed publish accreditation, tuition, and outcomes data.
| School | Location | Length | Modality | Tuition | Placement |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Empire Beauty School-Chandler | Chandler, AZ | 600 clock hours; full-time and part-time schedules | In person | $8,706 | 68% |
| Paul Mitchell The School Phoenix | Phoenix, AZ | 600 clock hours | In person | $8,746 | — |
| Charles of Italy Beauty College | Lake Havasu City, AZ | — wks | In person | — | — |
| East Valley Institute of Technology | Mesa, AZ | 2 semesters, 640 clock hours | In person | $7,745 | — |
| NIMA National Institute of Modern Aesthetics (IPEDS: Medspa Academies-National Institute of Modern Aesthetics) | Las Vegas, NV | 900 clock hours. Schedule options published by the school: full-time day 37.5 hrs/week, approx. 26 weeks (6.5 months); part-time day 27.5 hrs/week, approx. 33 weeks; flex-time day 23.5 hrs/week, approx. 27 weeks; full-time evening 24 hrs/week, approx. 38 weeks; part-time evening 15.5 hrs/week, approx. 57 weeks. | In person | $18,200 | 63% |
| Penrose Academy | Scottsdale, AZ | 600 clock hours; 20 weeks (4-day schedule) or 30 weeks (2-day or night schedules) | Hybrid | $12,875 | 94% |
| Paul Mitchell The School Las Vegas | Las Vegas, NV | Commitment to complete program: 600 hours; 4-day full-time schedule 28 hours/week | In person | $11,390 | 72% |
| Avalon Institute-Mesa | Mesa, AZ | 600 clock hours; 21 weeks full-time day schedule or 33 weeks evening schedule | In person | $9,300 | 71% |
| Avalon Institute - Phoenix | Phoenix, AZ | 600 clock hours; day schedule 21 weeks (33.75 hrs/wk), evening schedule 33 weeks (22.5 hrs/wk) | In person | $9,300 | 62% |
| Empire Beauty School - Tucson (Tucson-University Area) | Tucson, AZ | 600 clock hours; 18 weeks full-time or 35 weeks part-time; offered at Central Tucson and Chandler only | In person | $8,706 | 71% |
| GateWay Community College-Central City | Phoenix, AZ | — wks | Not reported | $4,715 | — |
| Milan Institute – Sparks, NV (Amarillo College of Hairdressing, Inc. d/b/a Milan Institute) | Sparks, NV | 900 clock hours; program length in weeks not stated in the catalog | Not reported | $16,165 | — |
| Milan Institute – Sparks, NV (Amarillo College of Hairdressing, Inc. d/b/a Milan Institute) | Sparks, NV | 600 clock hours; catalog's satisfactory academic progress schedule references a 30-week, 600-hour program (evaluation at 300 hours/15 weeks and 600 hours/30 weeks) | Not reported | $12,620 | — |
| Academy of Hair Design | Las Vegas, NV | — wks | Not reported | — | 85% |
| Avalon Institute - Las Vegas | Las Vegas, NV | 900 clock hours; Day: 32 weeks (35 hrs/wk); Evening: 49 weeks (22.5 hrs/wk) | In person | $13,950 | 67% |
| Avalon Institute - Las Vegas | Las Vegas, NV | Same 900-hour Advanced Esthetics program priced with Kit B (advanced makeup kit) | In person | $13,950 | — |
| Aveda Institute Avondale | Avondale, AZ | 600 clock hours (Arizona licensure requirement); full-time day schedules at 30 hours/week and an evening schedule at 25 hours/week; prepares graduates for the Arizona esthetician licensing examinations | In person | $12,000 | 74% |
| Milan Institute - Las Vegas | Las Vegas, NV | 900 hours | In person | $16,165 | — |
| Milan Institute - Las Vegas | Las Vegas, NV | 600 hours | In person | $12,620 | — |
| Aveda Institute Phoenix | Tempe, AZ | 600 clock hours (Arizona aesthetician licensure requirement); full-time day schedules 30-37.5 hours/week; evening schedule 25 hours/week with up to 28% distance education | In person | $12,000 | 81% |
| Aveda Institute Tucson | Tucson, AZ | 600 clock hours required for Arizona licensure; AM schedule 24 hours/week or PM schedule 25 hours/week; current start dates offered with 20% distance education (CIP 12.0409) | Hybrid | $12,000 | 79% |
| Casal Institute of Nevada, LLC (dba Aveda Institute Las Vegas) | Las Vegas, NV | 600 clock hours; 20 weeks per the 2025 catalog (https://avedalasvegas.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/01/2025-Catalog-2.pdf); website states completion in as little as five months | In person | $10,509 | — |
| Casal Institute of Nevada, LLC (dba Aveda Institute Las Vegas) | Las Vegas, NV | 900 clock hours; completion in as little as 30 weeks; includes medispa equipment, laser hair removal, IPL and micro-needling content | In person | $16,925 | — |
| Euphoria Institute of Beauty Arts & Sciences (Summerlin Campus, Las Vegas) | Las Vegas, NV | 720-hour day or evening program; school states completion in as little as 7.5 months when completed in normal time | In person | $12,240 | — |
| International Academy of Style | Reno, NV | 600 clock hours; estimated 20.00 weeks / 4.75 months at 30 scheduled hours per week | In person | $11,076 | 67% |
| L Makeup Institute | Las Vegas, NV | 750 clock hours / 22 weeks; offered only at the Southlake, TX campus | In person | — | — |
| Sierra Academy of Style | Carson City, NV | 600 clock hours; 18 weeks full-time, 20 weeks part-time | In person | $11,600 | — |
| Sierra Academy of Style | Carson City, NV | 900 clock hours; 27 weeks full-time, 30 weeks part-time | In person | $17,900 | — |
Popular cities offering Esthetician
Compare local tuition, length, and outcomes for esthetician training in these cities.
- Esthetician in Las Vegas, NVNevada11 schools →
- Esthetician in Phoenix, AZArizona3 schools →
- Esthetician in Mesa, AZArizona2 schools →
- Esthetician in Tucson, AZArizona2 schools →
- Esthetician in Sparks, NVNevada2 schools →
- Esthetician in Carson City, NVNevada2 schools →
- Esthetician in Chandler, AZArizona1 school →
- Esthetician in Lake Havasu City, AZArizona1 school →
- Esthetician in Scottsdale, AZArizona1 school →
- Esthetician in Avondale, AZArizona1 school →
- Esthetician in Tempe, AZArizona1 school →
- Esthetician in Reno, NVNevada1 school →
Related beauty programs
Frequently asked questions
- How long is a esthetician program?
- Most esthetician programs take about 24 weeks of full-time study and lead to a certificate.
- What is the median salary for a Esthetician?
- According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, the median annual wage is approximately $38,000. Actual salaries vary by region, employer, and experience.
- What should I look for in a esthetician school?
- Verify the school's institutional accreditation, state authorization, completion rate, and job placement rate. CareerSchoolFinder lists schools that meet these baseline transparency requirements.
Questions to ask before enrolling in a esthetician program
Bring this checklist to every information session, campus tour, or admissions phone call.
- Is the program institutionally accredited, or only state-approved?
- These are different things. State approval lets the school operate; accreditation by an agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education is what lets you use federal financial aid and is required for many professional licensure paths.
- What is the total cost, including all fees, books, supplies, and exam fees?
- Tuition is rarely the full price. Ask for a written total program cost disclosure that itemizes tuition, registration, technology, lab, and book/supply fees, plus any required certification or licensing exam fees.
- How long is the program in clock hours, not just weeks?
- Two programs both labeled "36 weeks" can deliver very different amounts of training. Ask for the total clock hours (or credit hours) and the weekly schedule (full-time, part-time, evenings, weekends).
- What are the most recent completion and job placement rates?
- Ask for the year, the methodology, and the underlying numbers — not just a percentage. A reputable school will share its annual performance fact sheet or gainful-employment disclosure.
- Is there a licensure or certification exam? What is the most recent pass rate?
- For healthcare, beauty, and many trades programs, a state or national exam is required to work in the field. Ask for the school's most recent first-time pass rate.
- What is the refund policy if I withdraw?
- Refund schedules vary widely. Ask to see the written enrollment agreement and the state-mandated cancellation/refund schedule before signing anything.
Where this data comes from
Every figure on CareerSchoolFinder is compiled from public records, accreditor directories, or the school's own published disclosures. We never accept payment from schools to be listed, and we don't sell prospective-student information.
Public filings
State regulator records (e.g., California BPPE, Maryland Board of Cosmetologists), federal College Navigator (NCES), and IPEDS data submitted by the institution.
Accreditor directories
Active-status verifications come directly from the accrediting agency's public directory (ACCSC, ABHES, COE, ACCET, NACCAS, COMTA, and others recognized by the U.S. Department of Education).
School disclosures
Tuition, fees, program length, and outcomes (completion, placement, licensure pass rate) come from the school's published catalog, performance fact sheets, and gainful-employment disclosures.
Data changes between catalog years. Always confirm directly with the school and the relevant state regulator before enrolling. College Navigator
See something inaccurate? Report it. We update listings within 5 business days.